Low-Carb Diet, People Pleasing

Sorry, can’t eat that!

Pasta is a feature of the Argentine cuisine
Pasta is a feature of the Argentine cuisine (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

What do you tell well-meaning people who offer you things that you can’t eat on your low-carb diet?  I’ve been on Atkins almost 2 months and I have people at work and in our little village offering things to me that I can’t eat.  Countless times I had to say “No thanks” to some wonderful things like black forest cherry cake, breaded chicken wings, french fries…etc, you get the point.

I’m starting to feel bad when I have to turn stuff down from my neighbors.  On Tuesday, we were invited to stop by for my neighbor’s birthday after work.  I was already starting to make dinner before walking over, but they said they had cooked for us and the other guests (must be a German thing) were waiting on us.  Just to be on the safe side, I ate a slice of salami before I left.  We walked to their house and a big table was set with family greeting us.  Then I saw a huge pot of spaghetti and tomato sauce sit on the table.

My first thought was: “Oh, oh.  How am I going to say no?”  So I just got it over with.  I nudged my neighbor and told her that I have to pass on dinner, but not to worry, I’d be fine.  Of course, her daughters, who are nurses, heard the conversation and started grilling me.  So I told them that I have to get my blood pressure down or I will have to be on medication again.  After a few minutes, the conversation was over.  I still felt a little awkward by not eating, but was really okay food-wise.

Later on everybody ate some cake.  I know I had to shoot it down as well, but I asked my hubby for a small bite just for a taste.  It was wonderful and I showered my neighbor with compliments!  This one bite was all I really needed, because the first bite is always the best anyway.  We still sat around and talked for a little while before going home.  What a nice evening!

Sometimes I get a little nervous when making special requests or when denying food that’s not good for me, but I’m getting used to it.  When I’m really hungry and we’re in town and food is not readily available, we stop at the Doener booth and get a Doener (like a gyros with a little spice and cabbage) and hubby eats the pita.  Or, like today, we walked by a bratwurst booth on a street fest and I ordered 2 little brats without the bun.  I told the guy at the grill that I cannot eat the bun and he was happy to put the brats in some foil.

So, trust me, it gets easier as you go along.  People may look at you funny if you eat your burger without a bun, but you’ll be the one not on meds or not having the weight issues anymore just a bit down the road.  I keep telling myself, that ultimately, I have to take care of myself.  Nobody can do that for me.  So, most of the time when people offer me some food I can’t eat, a little “no thanks” will do.

Other responses that worked for me are “Thank you, I’d love to but…

  • I’m still full from breakfast (lunch…)
  • I cannot have this (…for medical reasons).
  • Bread (flour, sugar) gives me a belly ache (or bad gas…hahaha – they’ll definitely leave you alone then).
  • I brought my lunch.
  • I already ate

“I’m on a diet” seems not to work out too well, because people still try to talk you into trying their goodies anyway, so I don’t really use that one.

I hope this gives you some ideas on how to keep people from pushing some food on you that you don’t want.

Until the next entry,

Nickie

1 thought on “Sorry, can’t eat that!”

Leave a Reply

