Food Addiction, Low-Carb Diet

Friday – Day 5 Back on Low-Carb – Danger Zone

It’s Friday and again, I’m entering the danger zone – the weekend.  This is when I have the toughest time staying low-carb. Weekends, for most people, is the time to relax and recharge their batteries for a new workweek.  It’s the perfect time for family get-togethers, BBQs, going to dinner and a movie…  All weekend activities seem to involve food.  So here’s how my Friday went:

Morning:

Nothing extra-ordinary to tell ya, so I won’t bore you to death with my mundane morning routine.

Work:

Took my bottle of bone-broth to work and heated up a cup full in the morning, while doing some tedious proof-reading.  Later on I finally received a notification e-mail that I had a package at the post office.  I’ve ordered, which I believe has been my most expensive jacket in my life.  It’s a 3-in-1 Columbia jacket (see the picture) and I’m hoping that it lives up to my expectations, after all, I’ll be wearing it for many years….  So, all morning I was sitting on pins and needles, hoping that it was the jacket that’s waiting at the post office for me.

Come lunch time, I grabbed my umbrella (yes, a nice rain jacket would be nice at about right now) and headed to the post office.  Sure enough, the clerk brought out a big, flat Columbia box.  I was so excited!  As soon as I made it to the car, I used my key to cut the tape on the box and pulled out my awesome jacket.  The color was even prettier than I expected.  Still, I was worried that it wouldn’t fit, since the reviews said it runs very small.  I usually wear an XL top, so per the reviews, I should’ve probably ordered a 3X, which was no longer available – so I ordered a 2X instead.  To my surprise, I was able to zip it up and it fit like a glove, even with thick liner and all.  Woohoo!  Of course, as soon as I stepped out of the car with my fluffy jacket, the rain ceased and the sun came out – dang, suddenly I was really hot…  This omni-heat feature sure works!  Yes, I’m so excited and ready for the Bavarian Winter to start.

Lunch today was just a 1/2 Subway Salad with double meat and I was full, so I saved some for later, if I wanted it.  During the afternoon, I had a bunch more pistachios (as opposed to my colleague’s kit-kat bars) and another cup of broth.

Dinner:

For dinner I made some tripe.  It’s a common dish in southern Germany and my Grandma used to make it a lot when I was a kid, so I decided that I would give it a shot myself.  Well, it was quite an experience, which I’ll devote a separate post to.  Yikes!

Gosh, I was facing temptation earlier this evening when my son made a batch of brownies.  I really didn’t want to mess up my weekend again, so I just had a square of dark chocolate instead, and then we sat down to watch the newest episode of Vampire Diaries.  So for today – I’m safe.

What I’ve learned:

Cheating with carb-bombs is over-rated and not worth the trouble.  Now I just gotta remember that when the next craving strikes!

Leave a Reply

