Dining Out, Low-Carb Diet

Low-Carb Dining at HuHot Mongolian Grill

Every girl needs a little pampering every once and a while. Today was my day to do a couple of things for myself. First, I got my hair colored with a few burgondy low-lights, treated myself with a new dress (on sale) for formal night at the upcoming Low-Carb Cruise, and finally had time to sit down for some lunch.

Slight Problem #1: Deciding Where to Go

All this running around left me pretty darn hungry. I was in a shopping area where I had plenty of restaurant choices, so I did a search for restaurants near me on my phone and On The Border popped up. Ooooooh! Chips and salsa sounded pretty darn good at this point and I was so tempted to go. A couple chips won’t be so bad… Then I had a moment of clarity and remembered how a couple of chips usually turn into a lot of chips (like 2 baskets, no kidding) plus half the rice and beans on my plate. Last time I went for Mexican, I checked my blood sugar 2 hours later, knowing it probably was going to be high. I didn’t expect to be in the 230s. So I discarded that great idea. As I continued to scroll the the options on my phone, Ultimate Buffet came up. Even though it’s a Chinese buffet, I figured that I could have shrimp & crab legs with butter and can be perfectly happy. Unfortunately, they were closed for their dinner reset. Finally, I came upon HuHot Mongolian Grill, still Chinese, and I can pick my ingredients. Yes, HuHot would definitely do the trick and it’s a place that I can stay on track with my low-carb lifestyle.

Slight Problem #2: What to Eat at the Mongolian Grill

IMG_0238Since I no longer drink diet coke, which has always been my go-to soda until a month or two ago, I ordered an unsweetened iced-tea with a lemon and helped myself at the buffet. I picked mostly meat (shaved beef & pork), added some cabbage, onions, and mushrooms, and decided to go with oil-based sauces (garlic, chili-oil, sesame oil, and a touch of green curry sauce made with coconut milk). The mix tasted delicious and I was glad I picked HuHot for my meal and to take a break from shopping.

*** For full disclosure, half way through my meal I added a little bit of rice to my plate, maybe 2-3 tbsp worth, but to be honest, it tasted kind of bland and next time I’ll just tell them that I don’t want any at the table, unless I have others who want rice accompanying me.

So Exactly What Was the Carb Count?

Well, I don’t really know. I can give you an educated guess, but other than the little bit of rice (about 10g of carbs) and maybe 2-3g carbs from the onions, mushrooms, and cabbage, I would say it had around 13g of carbs for the entire meal. Either way, it was a hell of a lot better than going to a Mexican place, which I find a lot more difficult to stay on track at, since chips and salsa are still trigger foods for me.

Finally, I’ll leave you with something warm and fuzzy…

4-up on 4-14-17 at 17.34 #3

… his name is Trouble and he approves of my new hair color!!!

Leave a Reply

